Ambient Pressure SPIKES

A:Ambient Pressure seem to have odd spikes on it, that seem to be related to “NO IDEA”

Normally on would not notice them, but if ambient Pressure is used to calculate some other more Visible variable, like Air speed,(in a more precise, study level simulation) then it becomes noticeably visibly on the Air speed Indicator…

Yes, one can FILTER the spiky Ambient Pressure, ( as we have been forced to do) but it might be better to eliminate the cause of the spikes in the first place,.

Green Plot is a Filter ambient Pressure (10% new, 90% old) - which obviously lags a little, but that is not as bad as spiking !!

Anyone any idea what is cause the very sharp spikes… Possible overly high frequency component Turbulence, something that also causes issues with the AP Pids !!

2 Likes

I wonder if the instantaneous turbulence acceleration has to do with it.

I am no weather expert, but I find it difficult to imagine large volumes of air, almost instantaneously accelerating up wards or downward as a result of convection… but I can imagine a Computer calculating such values, and not taking into account the mass of the air that is accelerating.

Some time ago I plotted out the vertical velocity of a light GA plane in MSFS, and found it had the same spiky, instantaneous acceleration and deceleration… and found I needed to also filter that to remove the high frequency component.

Note the time scale is in Seconds – can a C172 really accelerate up, then down, then up, then down , – all within I seconds – unless it had near zero mass ?

1 Like

So, let me ask a Blunt question,
What are the chances of Asobo tracking down & fixing these spikes ?

I suspect, even if they do, its going to be a LOW priority ?

So if Dev want to move forward now, with these spikes removed (or at least greatly reduced to a level where they do not cause “Perceived” issues) then for the time being we will have to do some of our own filtering to correct this issue…